The Honors Council consists of the Honors Director, six Honors faculty members, three Honors students, and the Vice-President for Academic Affairs at UMF (ex-officio).

The Council’s primary purpose is to assist the Honors Director in developing the Honors curriculum, selecting new honors students, coordinating Honors Program changes, and developing appropriate policies for the Program. Honors Council faculty members serve for staggered three-year terms and Honors Council student members serve for one-year renewable terms.


Joseph McGinn, Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs (Ex-officio)

Eric Brown, Honors Director and Professor of English (2017)

Julia Daly, Associate Professor of Geology (2017)

Leigh Ann Fish, Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education (2019)

Matthew Freytag, Instructor of Philosophy (2018)

Cara Furman, Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education (2018)

Nicole Kellett, Assistant Professor of Anthropology (2017)

Clarissa Thompson, Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2019)

Brittany Jones, Student Representative (2017)

Mattie Lajoie, Student Representative (2017)

Astra Pierson, Student Representative (2017)


#2 revised