Important Dates to View or Download (PDF): Spring 2020

UMF Calendar Notes from 2019-2020

Mon Dec 16 – Thur, Dec 19, 2019 Finals week (20th saved for a scheduled snow date)
Saturday, December 21, 2019 Winter break begins
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Winter session classes start
Thursday, December 26, 2019 Last day to add a winter session
Varies with course start date * Last day to drop a winter session
Monday, January 13, 2020 Last day to withdraw from a winter session
Wednesday, January 15, 2020 Spring billing due date
Friday, January 17, 2020 Winter session classes end
Sunday, January 19, 2020 Winter break ends
Monday, January 20, 2020 Martin Luther King Jr Day
Monday, January 20, 2020 Students move into the residence halls – opening at 9am
Monday, January 20, 2020 New Student Orientation
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 First day of spring classes
Friday, January 24, 2020 Last day to add a first-half semester course
Varies with course start date * Last day to drop a first-half semester course
Day after course drop date * Course withdrawal period begins for first-half semester course
Monday, January 27, 2020 Last day to add a full-semester course
Monday, February 3, 2020 Last day to drop a full-semester course with reduction in charges
Monday, February 3, 2020 Meal plan deadline
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 Course withdrawal period begins for full-semester courses
Varies with course start date * Last day to withdraw from a first-half semester course
Monday, February 17, 2020 Presidents’ Day
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 $50 Late fee charged to delinquent student accounts
Thursday, February 20, 2020 Health insurance waiver deadline
Monday, March 9, 2020 First-half semester courses end
Tuesday, March 10, 2020 Second-half semester courses begin
Friday, March 13, 2020 Last day to add a second-half semester course
Monday, March 16, 2020 $50 Late fee charged to delinquent student accounts
Mon, March 16 – Fri, March 20, 2020 Spring Break
Varies with course start date * Last day to drop a second-half semester course
Day after course drop date * Course withdrawal period begins for second-half semester course
Varies with course start date * Last day to withdraw from a second-half semester course
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 Last day to withdraw from a full-semester course
Thursday, April 16, 2020 $50 Late fee charged to delinquent student accounts
Monday, April 20, 2020 Patriots’ Day (classes will be held for students/offices will be closed)
Wednesday, April 22, 2020 Michael D. Wilson Symposium Day
Friday, May 1, 2020 Last day of classes
Monday, May 4 – Thursday, May 7, 2020 Finals week
Saturday, May 9, 2020 UMF 167th Graduation Ceremony  10:30am
Monday, May 11, 2020 May term classes begin
Monday, May 18, 2020 $50 Late fee charged to delinquent student accounts

Other Notes of General Interest

  • Class schedules may be viewed in your Student Center on MaineStreet.
  •  Textbooks, with the exception of custom course packs printed on campus, are now available for purchase online only.  To look up prices and order textbooks, visit universitystore.umf.maine.edu and click “Textbooks for Spring Term”, then enter course information. Order early to allow time for delivery.  Textbooks can be shipped to your home address or to the UMF University Store for pickup.  Students who wish to order their textbooks by phone can call 877-284-6744.  The University Store has an ordering kiosk in store for anyone who needs assistance ordering books.
  • Students may drop classes during the first two weeks of school and receive an adjustment to charges for full semester courses. The last day for a 100% tuition adjustment for dropping a class is Monday, February 3, 2020.
  • Checks or money orders should be made payable to the “University of Maine Farmington”, include your student ID and deliver to Merrill Center Student Services, 224 Main Street, Farmington, ME  04938.
  • If you are eligible for a refund for spring semester, direct deposit is available and enrolling would allow us to deposit the funds directly into your U.S. bank account.  If you do not apply for direct deposit, the refund will be mailed to your mailing address the week before spring 2020 classes start. Any returned refund checks will be available for pickup in the Merrill Center once classes begin.
  • Meal plan changes for on-campus, resident students may be made in the Residence Life Office after the Spring Semester begins. No further changes may be made (except adding points) to meal plans for on-campus residents for spring 2020 after Monday, February 3rd, at 4:00 p.m.
  • Make online payments at: mainestreet.maine.edu