The Psychology Faculty are a well-rounded group of professionals firmly committed to teaching and to a strong Liberal Arts education.  Among them, you will find a diverse range of specialties and interests.  The Psychology Faculty pride themselves on their ability to work with students to explore areas of student interest and to maximize student potential.

Chair

Steven Quackenbush
207-778-7518
steven.quackenbush@maine.edu
Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., Kansas State University)
Specialties and interests: moral development, aging, psychobiography, research methods, and history of psychology.

Faculty

Rhonda Jamison
207-778-7885
rhonda.jamison@maine.edu
Assistant Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Specialties and interests: Child and adolescent development, educational psychology, teacher-student relations, motivation and achievement, peer influence.

Joel King
207-778-7381
joelking@maine.edu
Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., Cornell University)
Specialties and interests: infant and child development, parenting, assessment of school programs, assessment of families in poverty, and statistical applications.

Natasha Lekes
207-778-7287
natasha.lekes@maine.edu
Assistant Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., McGill University)
Specialties and interests: clinical and counseling psychology, humanistic psychology, sex and couple therapy, and values and well-being.

Karol Maybury
207-778-7067
karol.maybury@maine.edu
Associate Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., University of California, Davis)
Specialties and interests: gender and social development, social psychology, personality psychology, human emotion, media and psychology.

Leanne Parker
207-778-7384
leanne.parker@maine.edu
Assistant Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., University of Montana)
Specialties and interests: clinical and counseling psychology, animal-assisted therapy, mindfulness-based interventions in health and wellness, and feminism, family systems, and behavioral psychology.

Dan Seabold
207-778-7382
seabold@maine.edu
Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Specialties and interests: clinical and counseling psychology, group work, and transpersonal and Eastern psychology.

Marilyn Shea
207-778-7374
mshea@maine.edu
Professor of Psychology (Ph.D., University of Kansas)
Specialties and interests: social psychology, physiological psychology, biofeedback, history of psychology, creativity, computer applications, and research methods.