In 2012, the Undergraduate Research Council (URC) presented the first Undergraduate Research Mentor Award.  In 2013, the award was named to honor the late Walter Sargent, a UMF history professor and URC member.  Walter was not only a council member, but a mentor of many undergraduate research projects that built a culture of undergraduate research in his discipline.  Each year we present the Walter Sargent Undergraduate Research Mentor Award to a faculty member with a similar record of mentoring and establishing a culture of undergraduate research within the discipline.

Award Recipients

  • 2017 – Dr. Karol Maybury, Associate Professor of Psychology
  • 2016 – Dr. Nicholas Koban, Professor of Mathematics
  • 2015 – Dr. Jean Doty, Professor of Biology
  • 2014 – Dr. Matt McCourt, Associate Professor of Geography
  • 2013 – Awarded posthumously to Dr. Walter Sargent, Associate Professor of History
  • 2012 – Dr. Ron Butler, Professor of Biology